Greg Lansing (left), along with his father Dave Lansing, is presented an IHSAA Hall of Fame plaque by Dr. Craig Scott, former Harlan Community Schools Superintendent and a current member of the IHSAA Board of Control.
(Photo courtesy of Larry Peterson, Creston News Advertiser)
 DES MOINES -- Former Harlanite Greg Lansing, the head basketball coach at Indiana State University, was inducted into the Iowa High School Athletic Association Basketball Hall of Fame last Saturday during halftime of the Class 4-A state title game at Wells Fargo Arena. Greg was accompanied on the...
IKM-M senior Kyle Wagner looks to drive to the basket against West Hancock at the state tournament.
 DES MOINES -- Four-year contributors to their respective programs, seniors Kyle Wagner of IKM-Manning and Kyle Juhl of Harlan Community were both honored with a spot on the 2016 Iowa Newspaper Association All-State Boys Basketball teams released Tuesday. Wagner, a 6-foot-4 swingman, was named to...
Former Harlan Community standout Greg Conry handled the majority of Peru State’s kicking and punting duties during his final three seasons as a Bobcat, earning NAIA All-America honors from USA College Football as a senior. (Photos contributed)
 PERU, NEB. -- Peru State College kicker Greg Conry was recognized at the College Foundation’s Alumni Chili Feed on February 20 and also at the football booster club’s annual banquet in January following an outstanding four-year career for the Bobcats. A 2012 Harlan Community High School graduate,...
 Spartan sophomore Sophia Peppers attempts a shot between Newell-Fonda’s Maddi Morenz (35) and Kate Christiansen.
Class 1-A State Quarterfinal (Feb. 29)Newell-Fonda 53, Exira-EHK 42Spartans’ final record: 23-1
 Harlan Community senior Taylor Frederick shoots over Marion freshman Sophie Willette.
Class 4-A State Quarterfinal (March 2)Marion 46, Harlan Community 38Cyclones’ final record: 20-3
 HARLAN -- Registration is open until March 24 for the third annual Color Run for the Cure, a 5K run/walk scheduled for Saturday, April 16, at the Harlan Fairgrounds. The Relay for Life team event will start at 10:00 a.m., with check-in opening at 9 o’clock that morning. All proceeds benefit the...
Vollstedt, pictured with Brett Nanninga (Associate Director of the IHSAA). (Photo by Mike Oeffner)
 DES MOINES -- Janell Vollstedt of Manilla was honored prior to IKM-Manning’s Class 1-A quarterfinal at the Boys State Basketball Tournament as the school’s Iowa High School Athletic Association “Fan of the Game.” Vollstedt, pictured with Brett Nanninga (Associate Director of the IHSAA), received a...
Front row, L-R: Jamie Schechinger, Andrea Ferry, Alicia Dominguez, Addison Ferry. Back row, L-R: Coach Jay Schechinger, Samantha Schmitz, Mercedee Mayberry, Jenny Weisenborn, Coach Jill Ferry.  Not pictured: Jessica DuVal. (Photo contributed)
AREA -- St. Boniface of Westphalia won the 2016 CYO Girls Basketball Tournament championship by defeating Panama in the title game on Sunday, February 28. The St. Boniface girls closed the season with a record of 7-2 with both losses against Panama during the regular season.
 AAU STATE QUALIFIERS -- Front, L-R: Jason McClure, Tyrel Jacobsen. Back, L-R: Luke Musich, Jeremiah Davis, Ethan Lemmon.
 DES MOINES -- Five individuals from the Harlan Community Wrestling Club qualified and competed at the 2016 AAU State Tournament held February 27-28 at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines. Sixth-grader Jeremiah Davis was the lone place-winner among the group, placing eighth with a 3-3 record in his...
 STATE HARDWARE -- IKM-Manning players, including Jared Vollstedt (left), Kyle Wagner, Ridge Muhlbauer and Ben Wegner (right) hold up the team’s state participant trophy.
 DES MOINES -- IKM-Manning faced a small margin for error in the opening game of the Boys State Basketball Tournament Monday morning. Allow West Hancock an open three-pointer and it was likely going to make it. Turn the ball over or hesitate ever so slightly getting back on defense and the Eagles...




Harlan Newspapers

1114 7th Street
P.O. Box 721
Harlan, IA 51537-0721

(800) 909-6397

Comment Here