New district football assignments released by IHSAA

Area schools to play in eight-team districts; state playoff format changes also announced

STATE – The Iowa High School Athletic Association on Wednesday released the state’s new district football assignments for 2016 and 2017, along with several adjustments to the playoff structure.
 Harlan Community (Class 3-A, District 7), IKM-Manning and AHSTW (Class 1-A, District 7) and Exira-Elk Horn-Kimballton (8-Player, District 7) will all compete in eight-team districts over the next two years.
 The Cyclones’ new district will look much the same as in past years, with Denison-Schleswig and Carroll returning to Harlan’s district schedule and Dallas Center-Grimes moving to District 2. HCHS and Denison will reside in the same district for the first time since 2005.
 IKM-Manning and AHSTW will remain district rivals along with holdovers Missouri Valley, OA-BCIG and Treynor. Those five schools will be joined by Logan-Magnolia, Tri-Center and the newly-consolidated Guthrie Center/Adair-Casey.
 Exira-EHK, meanwhile, will keep just one district opponent (Woodbine) from the last two-year cycle. The Spartans and Tigers have been placed with C-A-M, Clarinda Academy, East Mills, Essex, Fremont-Mills and Sidney.



Harlan Newspapers

1114 7th Street
P.O. Box 721
Harlan, IA 51537-0721

(800) 909-6397

Comment Here