Eight Cyclone gridders named first team All-State

Nine total HCHS players, two Wolves, one Viking recognized by IPSWA

 DES MOINES (Nov. 23) -- The Harlan Community football team capped a phenomenal season last Friday by winning the program’s 13th state title at the UNI-Dome.
 Two days later, the Cyclones also fared quite well in the Iowa Print Sports Writers Association’s all-state meeting in Des Moines.
 For the first time in school history, eight Harlan Community football players have been named first team All-State in Class 3A.
 The IPSWA’s list of first-team Cyclones includes seniors Connor Frame, Jameson Bieker, Lucas Stanley and Will McLaughlin, as well as juniors Gunner Schmitz, Teagon Kasperbauer, Aidan Hall and Stephen Leinen.
 HCHS senior Joey Moser was named to the second team.
 Three area players in Class A were also selected to the all-state teams. IKM-Manning seniors Max Nielsen and Amos Rasmussen were named second-teamers and AHSTW junior Aidan Martin made the third team.
 The IPSWA and Iowa Football Coaches Association released their 2021 all-state football teams on Tuesday following Sunday’s meeting - also available via Zoom - at Dowling Catholic High School. Dozens of sports writers and coaches from across the state were involved in the selection process, but only the writers voted.
 This year’s seven all-state senior captains include Lane Spieker of CAM (Eight-Player), Logan Knaack of Grundy Center (Class A), Casey Trudo of Van Meter (1A), Kolson Kruse of Southeast Valley (2A), Landyn Van Kekerix of Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley (3A), Nick Miller of Lewis Central (4A) and Xavier Nwankpa of Southeast Polk (5A).
 McLaughlin, who will sign his letter of intent to Iowa State next month, is now a three-time first-team selection while Frame was named a first-teamer for the second straight year.
 Hall moved up one spot from the second team to first team, Bieker jumped from third team to first team and Moser upgraded from third team to second team.
 The full listing of IPSWA All-State football teams can be viewed at iowasportswriters.com. It should be noted that Harlan’s Stephen Leinen and three other players were omitted from the 3A release.

Full story in November 26 Harlan News-Advertiser

Read this story and the entire paper for only $1 online

Search back issues, email stories, flip through pages and skim headlines just as you would with a newspaper in your hands.
Create an account and buy a paper anytime you want for only $1 per issue Or buy a year subscription for $39.95




Comment Here