This year’s All-Tournament Team members include, left-right: Sophia Peppers, Exira-EHK; Alli Masters, Central Decatur; Megan Morenz, Newell-Fonda; Rylee Menster, Springville; Olivia Larsen, Newell-Fonda; and Mikayla Nachazel, Springville, who was named 1A captain for the third year in a row. (Photo courtesy of Scott Kilbride)

Peppers on All-Tournament Team

 DES MOINES (March 3) -- For the second straight year, Exira-Elk Horn-Kimballton’s Sophia Peppers was one of six girls named to the Class 1A All-Tournament Team at the Girls State Basketball Tournament in Des Moines. The Spartan senior was recognized at the conclusion of Saturday night’s 1A championship game between Springville and Newell-Fonda at Wells Fargo Arena.
 Competing in her fourth state tournament, Peppers ranked fourth in the 1A field with 37 total points and tied for fourth with 16 rebounds as Exira-EHK defeated AGWSR in the first round, 57-47, and lost to eventual champion Springville in the semifinals, 57-41. Peppers’ 18 made free throws (in 20 attempts) tied for first in 1A and she ranked second with 11 steals.

Girls State Basketball Tournament - Class 1A Results
Quarterfinals: Wednesday, February 28
Springville 54, Algona Garrigan 36            Newell-Fonda 61, Kee 45
Exira-EHK 57, AGWSR 47                        Central Decatur 52, Montezuma 48
Semifinals: Friday, March 2
Springville 57, Exira-EHK 41               Newell-Fonda 61, Central Decatur 49
Championship Game: Saturday, March 3
#1 Springville 60, #3 Newell-Fonda 49
The top-seeded Orioles (24-3) became the eighth team in Iowa girls history to win three consecutive state titles and claimed their fourth championship overall. Newell-Fonda (26-1), which beat Springville for the 1A title in 2015, finished as state runner-up for the sixth time.

Read this story and the entire paper for only $1 online
Search back issues, email stories, flip through pages and skim headlines just as you would with a newspaper in your hands.
Create an account and buy a paper anytime you want for only $1 per issue Or buy a year subscription for $39.95



Comment Here