Fifty area gridders selected for 2017 all-district honors

 AREA -- Led by AHSTW’s 17 total selections, 50 players from the Harlan Newspapers’ coverage area have been recognized on this year’s All-District football teams.
 During the 2017 season, Harlan Community, AHSTW, IKM-Manning and Exira-Elk Horn-Kimballton combined for an overall record of 30-11, two district championships and three playoff berths.
 HCHS led the local charge by going 10-2 overall, winning the Class 3A, District 7 title with a perfect 7-0 record and advancing to the semifinal round of the playoffs at the UNI-Dome. The Cyclones had 10 players named first-team All-District, two second-teamers and two players who received honorable mention. HCHS also claimed four of the 10 players selected to the first team unanimously in seniors Nick Foss, Caleb Brouse and Deren Schmitz and junior Jon Owens.
 AHSTW was the champion of Class 1A, District 7 with a 6-1 mark and finished 8-2 overall following a first-round loss in the playoffs. The Vikings earned six first-team All-District selections, five second-teamers and six spots on the honorable mention list. Additional honors went to senior R.J. Harris (District MVP), junior Gabe Pauley (Defensive Player of the Year) and head coach Davis Pattee (Coach of the Year).
 IKM-Manning was also a playoff qualifier, finishing 7-3 overall and going 6-1 (runner-up to AHSTW) in Class 1-A, District 7. The Wolves had four players named first-team All-District, five second-teamers and three honorable mentions.
 Exira-EHK missed out on the playoffs this year, finishing 5-4 overall and tying for third place in 8-Player, District 7 with a record of 4-3. The Spartans had one first-team All-District selection in senior Cole Madsen, four second-teamers and two honorable mentions.

Read this story and the entire paper for only $1 online
Search back issues, email stories, flip through pages and skim headlines just as you would with a newspaper in your hands.
Create an account and buy a paper anytime you want for only $1 per issue Or buy a year subscription for $39.95



Comment Here